Lead Your Life

Leadership, Awareness, and Growth

Taking Back Your Mind! August 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — laurajuarez @ 5:36 pm

At 5:15 this morning, I hit the road in running shoes, the first sweatshirt of the summer, and my iPod. 

 This is the perfect way to start the day.  My feet pounding the pavement is the only noise, and I have the pleasure of watching a day break; as the moon hangs over the earth while the sun begins it rise up the horizon.  The sky is a changing canvas of color and light, and I’m sure this must be God’s favorite hour. 

 Since college, I have consciously chosen to not just be awake for the arrival of dawn but to be completely immersed in it.  For me, I find that as my body activates, my mind quiets.  And when that activation happens in nature, the silence is all the more profound.

 Today; however, I had a Eureka of the Obvious…  with my iPod earbuds snugly fit from the moment I open the door to the moment I close it behind me an hour later, I am opting out of true silence.  Whether it is a book or music playing, there is continuous input.  Other than the stunning visual of the morning, my “hour of power” mirrors my entire day….  Activity coupled with constant noise.    

So I unplugged.  I turned off the iPod and allowed my mind to relish in the noiseless space.  I found my mind percolating potential solutions and creating new paths; seemingly thrilled to have the chance to guide itself versus being enslaved by recycled noise fed to it. 

We spend most of our day bombarded with input.  We unconsciously check email and texts, we’re bombarded with newsflashes that ping us all day long on our mobile devises, & we’re running faster than ever trying to accomplish more in less time.  All with the hope of “getting ahead.” 

And yet, creativity & growth are possible only when we unplug from the external input in order to allow our minds the time to transform the wisdom & talent we possess into original ideas & solutions.  In other words, to allow our brilliance to emerge in observable ways.

So, today I committed to a new daily habit of intentionally building SILENCE into every day for at least 20 minutes.  We’ll see what happens…

 There is no doubt that creativity is the most important human resource of all. Without creativity, there would be no progress, and we would be forever repeating the same patterns. – Edward de Bono

 

One Response to “Taking Back Your Mind!”

  1. Mary B Brown Says:

    Thank you! I was thinking about silencing my mind this morning and how it brings a spiritual centerness! PEACE! CLARITY!


Leave a Reply

